The glaucomas can be classified into two main types,. The first type is open angle glaucoma (OAG). The second type is angle closure glaucoma (ACG). In OAG the anterior chamber angle is not manifestly occluded.  In ACG the anterior chamber angle is obstructed, usually by the iris.

OAG and ACG are each divided into primary and secondary types:

  • primary OAG (POAG),
  • primary ACG (PACG),
  • secondary OAG (SOAG), and
  • secondary ACG (SACG).

Primary means there is no identifiable cause for the glaucoma or the cause is inherent in the eye. The term primary is used here in the same way that it is used for primary hypertension. Secondary glaucoma means the glaucoma developed due to an initial ocular or systemic disease.

June 30, 2021

Aging Eye Diseases

Aging Eye Diseases Eye disorders are becoming more common with aging. As our aging population grows bigger, awareness of these conditions is extremely important to […]
June 30, 2021

Capillary Hemangioma

Capillary HemangiomaWhat is capillary hemangioma?: Capillary hemangioma or “strawberry nevus” is the most common vascular ocular tumor in children. It is an abnormal growth of […]
July 10, 2021

Congenital Rubella Syndrome

Congenital rubella syndrome ocular findings include pigmentary retinopathy, cataract, strabismus, microphthalmos, optic atrophy, etc.
August 10, 2021

Infantile Cataract – Infantile Glaucoma

Is there a link between infantile cataract and glaucoma? Yes, there are several links between these two conditions. All children who undergo cataract surgery, especially […]
December 5, 1982

Intraocular Pressure – Intraocular Pressure Measurement

Normal Intraocular Pressure Normal Intraocular Pressure One of the main risk factors for the development of glaucoma is a relatively increased intraocular pressure (IOP). The […]


It takes less than 5 minutes to complete your online booking. Alternatively, you may call our BGC Clinic, or our Alabang Clinic for assistance.