Corneal Transplantation

The cornea is the dome-shaped window of the eye. It covers the iris, pupil and lens. It is responsible for 2/3 of the refractive power of the eye. A diseased cornea affects vision.

Irreversible corneal damage requiring surgical intervention, specifically, a corneal transplantation may include:

  • late-stage keratoconus,
  • advanced corneal scars,
  • uncontrollable corneal infections,
  • non-healing ulcers,
  • progressive dystrophies, and
  • surgical trauma

A donor corneal button is used to replace a diseased cornea. There are currently several kinds of corneal transplantation procedures:

  • Descemet's Stripping Endothelial Keratoplasty (DSEK)
  • Descemet's Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty (DMEK)
  • Deep Anterior Lamellar keratoplasty (DALK)
  • Penetrating Keratoplasty (PKP)


Individuals requiring a corneal transplant will be added by a cornea surgeon to the cornea registry of the Eye Bank Foundation of the Philippines at the Sentro Oftalmologico Jose Rizal of the Philippine General Hospital. The corneal donor button waiting-time usually takes a couple of weeks to several months.


It takes less than 5 minutes to complete your online booking. Alternatively, you may call our BGC Clinic, or our Alabang Clinic for assistance.