The glaucomas can be classified into two main types,. The first type is open angle glaucoma (OAG). The second type is angle closure glaucoma (ACG). In OAG the anterior chamber angle is not manifestly occluded.  In ACG the anterior chamber angle is obstructed, usually by the iris.

OAG and ACG are each divided into primary and secondary types:

  • primary OAG (POAG),
  • primary ACG (PACG),
  • secondary OAG (SOAG), and
  • secondary ACG (SACG).

Primary means there is no identifiable cause for the glaucoma or the cause is inherent in the eye. The term primary is used here in the same way that it is used for primary hypertension. Secondary glaucoma means the glaucoma developed due to an initial ocular or systemic disease.

May 18, 2021

Optical Coherence Tomography

Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) is a non-contact imaging technique used to obtain high resolution cross-sectional images of the retina.
August 5, 2020

Primary Angle Closure Glaucoma

Primary angle closure glaucoma (PACG) is second to primary open angle glaucoma (POAG) as the most prevalent type of glaucoma worldwide but it is the […]
August 5, 2020

Primary Open Angle Glaucoma

Primary open angle glaucoma (POAG) develops due to the interaction of multiple factors some of which are known and others that are as yet undiscovered. […]


It takes less than 5 minutes to complete your online booking. Alternatively, you may call our BGC Clinic, or our Alabang Clinic for assistance.